Articles

Follow the steps for License Plate and Title Information

From another county inside Tennessee

  • You should have previously been issued a Tennessee plate and title.
    • New residents are required to apply for license plate and/or county wheel tax immediately after moving. Tennessee law does not provide a grace period.
    • A donation of $1 to promote Organ Donor Awareness is optional.
    • Sevier County vehicles are not required to be tested for emissions
    • The fee to renew a passenger vehicle plate is $24.00 for walk-in customers. By mail the fee is $25.00.
    • You may renew your tags online.
    • You may visit one of our convenient office locations.  View Locations
    • The fee to renew a regular passenger plate is $24.00. We will validate your registration and issue a "Sevier"" strip to go on the bottom of your plate.
    • Specialty license plates

      From another State
You have your vehicle title from your previous state:
  • Bring to County Clerk's office:
    1. Vehicle Title (All liens must be released)
    2. Proof of Identification and residency (More Information)
    3. The fee for a title and purchase of a license plate is $38.00 (The new plate will be valid for one year from the month purchased)

 

You have your vehicle title from your previous state:
  • My vehicle is leased:
    • Bring these items to our office.

1. Last vehicle registration issued by your previous state
       (The document showing license plate number and expiration date)
2. Copy of your lease agreement
3. Power of attorney from the leasing company
       (This will allow you to sign for the lessor on the title application)
4. Proof of Identification and residency (More Information)
       (You must apply for title in your county of residence)
5. The fee for a title and purchase of a license plate is $35.50
       (The new plate will be valid for one year from the month purchased)

  • My title is held by a lienholder:
    • Bring these items to our office.

1. Last vehicle registration issued by your previous state
       (The document showing license plate number and expiration date)
2. The complete mailing address of your lienholder
3. Proof of Identification and residency (More Information)
       (You must apply for title in your county of residence)
4. The fee for a title and purchase of a license plate is $35.50
       (The new plate will be vaild for one year from the month purchased)

 

 

 

 

II. Tennessee Driver's License Information

  • My title is lost; You must obtain a title from your previous state.
  • Link to
    • Note: In Arizona, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, South Dakota, and Wisconsin the owner not the lien holder keeps the title.
/*
Copyright © 2017. . Sevier County, TN - Designed by Liberty Webs